top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRebecca Johnson

Fossil Photo Shoot

My museum job offers me unique opportunities in video and photography. I don't know anyone else who is asked to set up a photo shoot to capture images of fossils for a colleague's upcoming presentation. Initially, I was just going to use my Nikon 3400 DSLR to take some simple shots, but at the last minute, I remembered I had been gifted a previously used white box and wanted to give it a go!

Fossil over a black background
Nikon D3400 - 35 mm - f/8 - 1/125

Truthfully, I had never practiced with a white box before, but I had seen it used by a better photographer than me so I knew what it could do. I set up the box, arranged two lights I had on either side as a key light and a fill light, attached my speedlite (set to TTL), and...just started shooting. Since I didn't have a lot of time to practice metering, I did what photographers are always told NOT to do and used auto mode. It seemed like the fastest and most effective way to get the shots we needed.

Nikon D3400 - 35 mm - f/8 - 1/125

For my first attempt at using a white box, I was pretty happy with the results! My lighting probably wasn't the best, I chickened out and abandoned manual mode, and I'm sure there are still things I need to understand about the box, itself, but I was able to achieve high resolution photographs that were in focus and could have the box background removed and replaced with a cleaner black background in Adobe Photoshop. I'd like to learn more about Product Photography because this is a skill I could use more of in my day job.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page